瞬时排放分析仪

现代国际车辆排放法规普遍要求对车辆的各种标准发动机循环进行测试,所有种类的发动机循环都是瞬时的(例如,NEDC,FTP,10和15型循环)。

传统的排放分析仪只能达到大约一秒的反应速率T10-90%%。这样的反应速率下,发动机通常已经经过很多个燃烧循环了,而且即使在稳定状态下,一般发动机循环之间的差异也是很大的,所以快速反应的分析仪对发动机在瞬时状态下的排放标定起着至关重要的作用。

火花点火发动机的供油

火花点火发动机对空气和燃油的比例的精确度控制非常高,精确控制可以保证混合物在缸内被火花塞正确的点燃燃烧。在汽油机里,空气和燃油的比例通常被控制在化学理想配比值上,这样能有助于后处理装置,比如三元催化反应器的作用。

在发动机里,特别是在发动机其实状态和加速加载的瞬时过程中,空气和油料的流动变化的非常迅速。这种迅速变化导致的一系列问题可以在研发的过程中用Cambustion的快速反应分析仪正确而有效地加以研究和解决。

曲柄传动供油

当发动机开始曲柄传动的时候,ECU通常通过打开的进气阀对缸内进行喷油。如果没有点火燃烧,所喷入的油料最终会通过出气阀排出。因为冷催化器没有能力氧化燃料,未被燃烧掉的HC会从排气管排出。

所 以任何冷曲柄传动策略必须要达到在曲柄传动过程中向缸内提供的可燃混合物被尽快燃烧的目的,以抑制高HC 的排放。这种策略的主要障碍是当气缸还比较冷的 时候汽油的挥发率比较低。很大一部分被喷入气缸的汽油无法被挥发,残留在气缸内形成"油胶" 一般形成在PFI发动机的进气管壁上,或者在GDI发动机的气缸内。GDI发动机运用壁面引导或者油束引导的喷油方式,后者对减少冷启动时油料在活塞顶部 的胶着趋势有着明显的作用。

温度越低,这种问题越突出,所以在温度较低的情况下,ECU必须提供更多的汽油来补偿未被挥发的油料。Cambustion HFR500快速反应HC分析仪可以测量曲柄传动过程中HC的浓度,用来帮助ECU曲柄传动供油模型的标定和优化。

下载动画演示碳氢化合物在PFI发动机启动和初始空转条件下的排放。

油料胶化

因为火花点火发动机在第一个燃烧循环中油料的挥发度比较低,所以比较稀薄。而第二个燃烧循环中油料就很可能富余,因为第一个燃烧循环中产生的热量会导致过剩的液态油料挥发。

当 PFI发动机工作的时候,它的进气管中仍然含有相当体积的液态油料- "油胶"。这些胶状油料会随着进气管温度(通常会被冷却剂所加热)的升高而减少。在节流阀瞬态过程中,空气流量可能会因为蝶形阀的打开而迅速升高。油胶所 受影响的反应速度一般比较慢,准确的了解这些油胶的体积和动力学特性对保证在节流阀瞬态过程中发动机不经历高振幅的油料浓度变化非常必要。

HFR500快速HC分析仪已经在确认油胶尺寸和动力学特征的问题上运用很多年了。原理是采用喷射器和火花去除装置,紧接着启动发动机来测量被排放的碳氢化合物。

AFR的控制

当发动机还比较冷的时候,缸内的AFR值不能用喷射量和气流量来计算。因为一部分油料仍然是液态的,所以火花塞附近的混合物量可能要比从总喷射油量/总气流量计算出来的要少。

标准的UEGO探测器经常被用来测量AFR。但是当HC浓度比较高的时候(这在冷启动过程中和结束后的短时间内是不可避免的),这些探测器的结果会很不准。

在这样的情况下,对燃烧产物(CO & CO2)的测量可以用来指示参与燃烧燃料的AFR。Cambustion NDIR500 是一款非常合适于这种工作的分析仪。因为它的反应速度仅有8ms T10-90%,它可以用来计算在发动机启动和工作期间每个循环的燃料AFR值

备选油料

一些代用燃料,比如乙醇或者液化石油气(LPG)需要不同的标定。特别是乙醇的挥发特性与汽油有很大的不同,因此这需要不同的标定策略,这在冷启动过程中尤为重要。HFR500通常用来标定这些备选油料。

残余油料的模型建立

当发动机开始曲柄传动的时候,歧管内较低的真空程度可以让缸内充满新鲜的空气。虽着真空的逐渐增强,缸内(内部EGR)所残留的燃烧产物的比例迅速 增加。在研究喷油策略的时候这些残余物的效应必须被考虑到,因为它们的存在会减少燃烧所需的氧气量,所以所喷的油量也必须相应的减少。

NDIR500 CO, CO2分析仪可以用来在压缩冲程结束阶段测量缸内残留油料的浓度。它的高速反应能力(T10-90% 8ms),可以在发动机启动和正常工作阶段的每一个冲程循环中测得所需的结果。

这项技术对标定EGR系统非常有用,也可以用来揭示多缸发动机在某个加速/加载点下或者瞬时过程中EGR的失衡性。

微粒排放

进气道燃油喷射汽油机的典型工作状态是λ=1(对运用三元催化器来后处理有帮助)。 在热进气阀背后喷射燃油对燃油的挥发有促进作用;另外,对燃烧室和进气的精密设计也有助于混合物的配备。

这样做的好处是PFI汽油机的微粒排放相对比较低,并有足够多的氧气来对燃油进行充分的燃烧(总空气燃油比率),这些氧气最终与燃油混合(理想混合物配备)。

缸 内直喷(GDI)发动机的采用是经济用油需求的结果。因为汽油蒸汽不再需要通过进气阀进入燃烧室,这样就有更多的空气可以允许同时进入燃烧室。这种效果以 及汽油在缸内蒸发所引起的充气冷却效应,使得发动机可以在同样的输出功率下缩小尺寸。(这些优点直接改善了提及利用效率。)涡轮增压技术是另一种提高输出 功率的选择途径。

然而如果缺少的热进气阀对汽油的蒸发影响以及缺少所需的时间,那么蒸发过程就会不理想,而且导致了当地空气燃油比例的变化。如果当地的燃油富足(原因可能是燃油蒸汽的过剩或者液态油滴在氧气富足的条件下表面氧化),那么不完全的燃烧会导致微粒的产生。

GDI 发动机每个工作循环间的差异一般比PFI发动机要高-有很多因素导致了这种差异,比如喷油对活塞/缸壁的冲击可以会产生非常不同的效果。今后(欧洲的)排 放法规会限制GDI发动机的颗粒排放数量(N/km)。法定技术提供了较好的敏感度和可重复性,但是相比之下这项技术的低反应速率无法解析瞬时状态下的微 粒排放。通常发动机工作循环中大量的微粒排放是在加速加载的瞬时过程中发生的。在这瞬时过程中,要精确的控制空气和燃油的比率是非常困难的。

CambustionDMS500提供了一个更快的测量微粒质量和数量的方法,并与法定的技术相联系。 Cambustion的微粒分析仪采用200ms T10-90%的低反应速率来采样原始排放物(无需CVS通道也能在DPF的上游和下游采样),它能够揭示发动机工作状态时的种种特征,为标定单位和设计研发单位提供了非常重要的数据来达到法规所规定的排放标准。

Transient Emissions Analyzers

Vehicle emissions legislation around the world requires the testing of vehicles against various standard drive cycles, all of which are transient in nature. (Examples include the NEDC, FTP, 10 and 15 mode cycles).

Conventional emissions analyzers have time responses ~1 second T10-90%. As an engine undergoes many firing cycles during this time period, and since engines often exhibit significant cyclical variation (even at steady state), fast response emissions analyzers are vital tools to calibrate engines for emissions compliance during transient operation.

Spark Ignition Engine Fueling 

Spark ignition engines require accurate control of the air/fuel ratio to ensure that the mixture in the cylinder may be ignited by the spark plug, and burn correctly. Air/fuel ratio in gasoline engines is generally run at the stoichiometric ratio to allow the fitting of after-treatment devices such as three way catalysts.

The air and fuel flows in an engine can change rapidly, particularly during engine start, and also during speed / load transients. This leads to various issues, which may be effectively investigated and addressed during development using Cambustion fast response gas analyzers.

Crank Fueling

When the engine starts to crank, the ECU injects fuel into the cylinders, often through open inlet valves. Until the engine is able to fire, any injected fuel will ultimately pass out through the exhaust valve. Since the cold catalyst is unable to oxidize the fuel, the unburned HC exits the tailpipe.

Any cold cranking strategy must therefore aim to achieve an ignitable mixture as quickly as possible to avoid very high HC emissions during crank. The major obstacle to this is the poor vaporization of gasoline when the engine is cold. A significant fraction of the gasoline injected fails to vaporize, and remains as a liquid "fuel puddle", either on the walls of the intake manifold in a PFI engine, or inside the cylinder on a GDI engine. GDI engines may use wall or spray guided injection, the latter offering a significant reduction in the tendency of the fuel to puddle on top of the piston during cold start.

The lower the temperature the more pronounced this problem is, so at lower temperatures the ECU must inject additional gasoline to compensate for the failure of all the fuel to vaporize. The Cambustion HFR500 fast response HC analyzer can be used to measure HC concentrations during crank, allowing the ECU model for crank fuel to be calibrated and improved.

Download an animation of the hydrocarbons emitted during start and initial idle of a PFI engine

Fuel Puddle

The first firing cycle of a spark ignition engine is usually lean, since the fuel vaporization is poor. The second firing cycle may then be rich, as the heat from the first firing cycle causes this excess liquid fuel to vaporize.

Once the engine is running, the inlet manifold on a PFI engine still contains a significant volume of liquid fuel- the "fuel puddle." The volume of this puddle will decrease as the temperature of the manifold (which is often actively heated with coolant) increases. When a throttle transient occurs, the airflow may be increased very rapidly by opening the butterfly. The fuel puddle takes longer to respond, and accurate knowledge of the volume and dynamic behavior of the fuel puddle is necessary to ensure that the engine does not undergo large rich / lean excursions during throttle transients.

The HFR500 fast HC analyzer has been employed for many years to verify the size of this fuel puddle and also its dynamic behavior, using an injector and spark cut while subsequently motoring the engine to measure the expelled hydrocarbons.

AFR Control

When the engine is cold, the AFR in the cylinder can not be calculated using just injection volume and airflow. Since some of the fuel remains in the liquid phase, the mixture at the plug may be much weaker than that calculated from total fuel injected / total airflow.

A standard UEGO sensor is often fitted to measure AFR, but these sensors give incorrect outputs when HC concentrations are high (which is inevitable during and immediately after cold start).

In this case, the measurement of the products of combustion (CO & CO2) may be used to infer the AFR of the gas involved in combustion. The Cambustion NDIR500 is a suitable analyzer, and since it has a time response of 8ms T10-90% it may be used to calculate the AFR of the gases cycle-by-cycle during engine start and operation.

Alternative Fuels

Alternative fuels such as ethanol or Liquefied Petroleum Gas (LPG) require different calibrations. In particular the vaporization properties of ethanol are very different to gasoline, and this requires different strategies, especially at cold start. The HFR500 is commonly used to calibrate for alternative fuels.

Residuals Modeling

When the engine begins to crank, the lack of manifold vacuum results in good cylinder filling with fresh air. As the vacuum builds up, the proportion of combustion products trapped in the cylinder (internal EGR) rapidly increases. These residuals need to be accounted for in the injection strategy since they reduce the oxygen available for combustion, and the injection volume must be reduced accordingly.

The NDIR500 CO and CO2 analyzer is able to measure the concentration of residual gas inside the cylinder at the end of compression. The fast time response (T10-90% 8ms) allows this calculation to be performed on a cycle by cycle basis, during engine start and normal operation.

This technique is useful for calibrating EGR systems, and also to reveal imbalances in EGR in multi-cylinder engines, which may occur only at certain speed/load points or during transients.

Particulate Emissions

Port fuel injected gasoline engines typically run close to lambda one (to allow the use of three way catalyst aftertreatment). The injection of gasoline onto the back of a hot inlet valve results in good vaporisation of the fuel, and careful chamber and intake design results in good mixture preparation.

As a consequence particulate emissions from PFI gasoline engines are relatively low. There is sufficient oxygen available to fully combust the fuel (overall Air Fuel Ratio) and this oxygen is evenly mixed with the fuel (good mixture preparation).

The adoption of Gasoline Direct Injection (GDI) engines is compelling for fuel economy reasons. Since the gasoline vapour no longer has to enter through the inlet valve, a larger volume of air is able to enter in the same time. This, coupled with the charge cooling effect as the gasoline vapourizes in the cylinder, allows the engine to be downsized for equivalent power. (These advantages effectively result in improved volumetric efficiency). Turbo charging is an attractive option for enhancing power output.

However, the lack of a hot inlet valve to vaporize the gasoline, and the reduced time available, leads to imperfect vaporization and variations in local Air Fuel Ratio. Where a locally rich zone occurs, either through excessive gasoline in vapour form, or through liquid droplets of gasoline which oxidize in a rich condition at their surface, incomplete combustion results in the production of particulates.

The cyclical variation of GDI engines is generally greater than for PFI engines- factors such as impingement of the spray on the piston / cylinder walls can produce very variable results. Future legislation (in Europe) may restrict the permissible particle number emissions from GDI engines (N/km). The legislated technique provides good sensitivity and repeatability, but its comparatively slow response prevents such equipment accuratly resolving transient particulate emissions. It is during speed/load transients (where accurate air and fuel control is necessarily much harder to achieve) where a significant proportion of cycle emissions may occur.

The Cambustion DMS500 offers a faster method of measuring both particle mass and number, which correlates with legislative techniques. With time responses as low as 200ms T10-90% and the ability to sample raw exhaust (not requiring a CVS tunnel) Cambustion's particulate analyzers reveal features of engine operation which offer calibrators and developers crucial data to meet emissions legislation.