传统分析仪

火焰电离检测器(FID)是一款用工业标准化方法测量发动机碳氢化合物排放的仪器。传统的FID的反应速度在1-2秒钟时间,通常用于测量浓度变化非常慢的"包排放"。

对快速排放物分析仪的需求

在典型的FID反应的1-2秒钟时间内,发动机通常已经运转了若干个循环了。在连续的燃烧循环中,燃烧室里的条件会有很大的不同-特别是在发动机运行条件 变化很快的情况下,比如启动时和加速/加载的瞬时状态时。Cambustion HFR500的反应速度可以达到0.7ms T10-90。这种快速的分辨率可以使HFR500区分临近两个燃烧循环的不同情况,甚至可以解析在同一个排气冲程过程中HC浓度的变化。

快速排放物分析仪的优势

安置在发动机舱内的HFR500采样头

准确的测量排放物可以给提供很多发动机运转时的内部信息,有助于标定工程师对于降低发动机排放的工作。这也有助于在降低后处理费用的同时仍然保证低排放度。

快速FID(有时称为fFID)是一款精密设计和标定的仪器,可以在远高于失火状态下的HC浓度(例如在汽油机中完全化学当量意义上的失火浓度:42,000 ppm C3)时保持线性,记录下这些重要环节中的准确浓度值。

应用

对于所有的汽油机(无论是进气口喷射式还是缸内直喷式)来说,从排放量的方面评估,最有挑战性的运行阶段是冷启动阶段。

由于催化器一开始温度不高,它并不能转换吸收所有的发动机排放物,这些排放物便会从尾管中排放出去。因为在汽油机还比较冷的时候油料的挥发性比较 差,所以在曲柄传动中必须喷入更多的油料(大于燃烧所需的化学当量比例)来达到缸内可燃混合物的浓度。在第一次成功点火的冲程循环中大量的热被迅速释放出 来,这些富余的液态油料就被迅速的挥发。而第二次成功点火循环中的油料很可能就会非常富余,导致排放物中存在高浓度的未被燃烧掉的碳氢化合物。

所具有的可以测量发动机启动时和启动后每一次冲程循环中HC排放的能力可以帮助工程师优化发动机冷启动的标定,在最小化HC排放的同时保证启动的成功率。 

一些代用燃料,比如乙醇(或者汽油和乙醇的混合物)有很不同的挥发特性,因此冷启动需要多次标定。

一旦发动机开始运行,因为进入发动机的空气流变化的比油料快,加速/加载的瞬时状态可导致碳氢化合物形成"峰值"(短暂的高排放期)。传统的分析 仪,因为反应速率只有大约一秒,所以无法解析这个过程,但是HFR500可以捕捉到每个机缸的每个冲程循环中HC排放浓度的数据。

如需更多的关于HFR500用于发动机启动和油胶研究的信息,请参详我们的网页火花点火式发动机

关于这方面的更多的信息,请参详链接应用及数据样本

关于HFR500的宣传册可以从 这里下载

如需更多的信息和产品价格可以联系 我们 。

Conventional Analyzers

The Flame Ionisation Detector (FID) is the industry-standard method of measuring engine exhaust hydrocarbons. Conventional FIDs have response times of 1-2 seconds, and are typically used to measure "bag emissions" where the concentration changes very slowly.

A need for fast emissions analyzers

During the 1-2 seconds it takes a conventional FID to respond, an engine will undergo many firing cycles. The conditions inside the combustion chamber can vary significantly between successive firing cycles- particularly when the engine conditions are changing rapidly such as during engine start or speed/load transients. The Cambustion HFR500 has a time response as low as 0.7ms T10-90. This allows the HFR500 to distinguish between two adjacent firing cycles, and even offer information about the variation in HC concentration during a single exhaust stroke.

Benefits of fast emissions analyzers

HFR500 sample head fitted in engine bay

Accurate measurement of exhaust emissions brings valuable insights into engine operation, and assists calibration engineers in reducing the engine out emissions. This can assist in emissions compliance while reducing after-treatment costs.

The fast FID (sometimes known as an fFID) is carefully designed and calibrated to be linear to well above misfire HC levels (e.g. 42,000 ppm C3 for a complete stoichiometric misfire in a gasoline engine) so that accurate concentrations during these important events can be recorded.

Applications

For all gasoline engines (port- or direct-injection) the most challenging phase of operation (from an emissions viewpoint) is the cold start. (Download a pdf presentation about gasoline cold start calibration)

The cold catalyst is initially unable to convert any of the engine-out emissions, and these therefore reach the tailpipe. Since in a cold gasoline engine the vaporization of the fuel is poor, additional fuel (i.e. more than stoichiometric ratio alone requires) must be injected during crank, to achieve an ignitable mixture in the cylinder. The rapid heat release caused by the first firing cycle leads to a rapid vaporization of this excess liquid fuel, and the second firing cycle may easily be rich, leading to high concentrations of unburnt hydrocarbons in the exhaust.

The HFR500's unique ability to measure cycle-by-cycle HC emissions during and after start allows engineers to optimize engine calibration for cold start; maintaining startability while minimizing these highly significant HC emissions. 

On gasoline engines, the use of an evaporative emissions canister to trap the HC vapours from the fuel tank requires the canister to be purged in to the intake system.  Normally, this is scheduled to occur a few minutes after engine start, but can lead to significant levels of additional fuel entering the combustion chambers.  With some additional accessories, it is possible to use the fast FID to sample from the intake (even downstream of the throttle) and measure the actual [HC] which are contributing to the engine’s fuelling.  Similar techniques can be used for fuel emerging from the crankcase blow-by gases via the crankcase ventilation system.

Alternative fuels such as ethanol (or a mix of gasoline and ethanol) have different vaporization characteristics and require additional calibration for cold start.

Once the engine is running, transients in speed and load can lead to hydrocarbon "spikes" (brief periods of high emission), since the airflow into the engine can change more quickly than the fuel. Conventional analyzers with time responses of around a second can not resolve these events, but the HFR500 offers valuable data about the exhaust HC concentration, on a cycle-by-cycle and cylinder-by-cylinder basis.

The HFR500 is available with support for AK protocol, allowing easy integration with the test bench for improved test reliability and reduced workload.

To read more about the application of the HFR500 to engine start and fuel puddle studies visit our Spark Ignition Engines page.

For more information on these and other applications please see Applications & Sample data.

The brochure may be downloaded here.

Please contact Cambustion for more information and prices.

Key Application Notes 
Title Data type Download File Size Last updated
Flame Traverse Sampling Application note PDF icon CLD06v01 Fast gas analysis traversing a methane flame.pdf 607.88 KB 22-Sep-2015
Cold start PFI gasoline HC emissions Application note PDF icon hfr01v02 si cold start.pdf 77.14 KB 18-Aug-2009
High rpm fuelling control Application note PDF icon hfr02v01 high rpm.pdf 149.57 KB 19-Aug-2009
HC emissions from a diesel-engined passenger vehicle Application note PDF icon HFR05v01 Diesel.pdf 288.67 KB 24-Feb-2015
Suitability of HFR500 for ethanol measurements Application note PDF icon hfr06v01 ethanol.pdf 13.2 KB 19-Aug-2009
Gasoline Direct Injection (GDI) HC emissions Application note PDF icon HFR07v01 GDI HC emissions.pdf 128.38 KB 24-Feb-2015
Intake manifold measurement of “found fuel” PDF icon HFR08v01 intake sampling.pdf 547.89 KB 02-Feb-2015
Combustion instability detection during catalyst heating phase of GDI cold start Application note PDF icon HFR09v01 GDI cold start catalyst heating strategy combustion instability.pdf 543.55 KB 24-Aug-2016
Cycle-by-cycle AFR measurement of a cold start using an NDIR500 and HFR500 Application note PDF icon NDIR03v02 AFR measurement.pdf 442.5 KB 24-Feb-2015